The University of Western Ontario (UWO), corporately branded as Western University as of 2012 and commonly shortened to Western, is a public research university in London, Ontario, Canada.

The university was founded on 7 March 1878 by Bishop Isaac Hellmuth of the Anglican Diocese of Huron as `The Western University of London Ontario`. It incorporated Huron University College, which had been founded in 1863. The first four faculties were Arts, Divinity, Law and Medicine. The Western University of London became non-denominational in 1908. Beginning in 1919, the university has affiliated with several denominational colleges. The university grew substantially in the post-World War II era, as a number of faculties and schools were added to university.


Undergraduate students

Western Admission Scholarship Program  $1,000-$2,500/year, up to 4 years

National Scholarship Program    Up to $65,000 over 4 years

Schulich Leader Scholarship    $80,000-$100,000

Project Hero Scholarship    Up to $10,000

Medicine & Dentistry Schulich Scholarships  $26,200-$42,000

Loran Award

Each Loran award is valued at $100,000 including an annual stipend of $10,000 and tuition waiver from Western University, access to $10,000 in funding for summer internships, one-on-one mentorship and annual retreats and scholar gatherings